2022 Australian Legal Education Awards Winners

Celebrating excellence in Australian Legal Education

The Council of Australian Law Deans (CALD) and the Legal Education Associate Deans (LEAD) network are delighted to announce the successful recipients of the 2022 Australian Legal Education Awards (ALEAs), as announced at the ALAA conference dinner last Friday evening!

The Award Panels, comprising Deans and Associate Deans (Teaching & Learning) (or equivalent) from around the country, were impressed by the quality of the nominations put forward and the significant contributions being made to the scholarship of teaching and learning in the discipline of law.  

The winners of the 2022 ALEAs are:

  1. Teaching Excellence – Kate Offer (University of Western Australia) for developing a highly engaging class culture with a focus on innovation and both real life and industry relevant learning
  2. Teaching Excellence (Early career) – Kathryn Greenman (University of Technology Sydney) for delivering practice-oriented, inclusive and engaging learning experiences that inspire students to learn and develop positive professional identities as ethical and justice-focused lawyers
  3. Teaching Excellence (Sessional) – Liz Mansveld (University of Western Australia) for sustained contribution to teaching and learning excellence in legal education using evidence-based methodologies and a passion for student success
  4. Teaching Excellence (Engagement) – Sara Dehm and Anthea Vogl (University of Technology Sydney) for inspiring students’ real-world commitment to refugee justice and enhancing their professional capabilities through clinical legal education, industry partnerships and critical, experiential learning
  5. Research Supervision – Niloufer Selvadurai (Macquarie) for inspiring students to find a purpose for research that transcends academic success and addresses a societal need motivates students to learn and flourish

In addition, the ALEAs seek to honour sustained contribution to legal education over a period of at least 25 years through the Outstanding Career Achievement Award, which is assessed by CALD. The recipient of this award in 2022 is Dr Penny Carruthers, University of Western Australia for sustained commitment in developing challenging and inspirational learning journeys for law students – in the classroom, through the curriculum, and through broader student experiences.

CALD and LEAD offer their sincere congratulations to the successful recipients of the ALEAs this year and thank all nominees for their nominations, which inspired the Award Panels with their contribution and commitment to teaching and learning!

For suggestions or queries please contact: Julian Laurens (Project Officer)